Australian Council of Educational Leadership (ACEL) Lifetime Member Award (2013). The award is given to members who have made significant contributions to the organisation over many years. Patrick is a past president of the ACEL.

Included in the SAGE Library of Educational Thought and Practice in the field of Educational Leadership and Administration, edited in UK, USA, Hong Kong and Canada and published in 2009. The series encapsulates and disseminates the seminal works in the field of educational science and collects together those articles and essays which have been most influential in shaping and driving the discipline over the past forty years.

Patrick Duignan Award. This is an award granted by NSW Australian Council for Educational Leaders to recipients who have contributed excellent service to education and educational leadership in NSW.

Australian Council for Educational Leaders Outstanding Service Award 2009 for excellent service to the profession and to the Council.

The Hedley Beare Award for Educational Writing 2008. This is a prestigious national award to Patrick in recognition of his excellence writing over many years in the area of educational leadership.

ACU Research Fellowship (2008 and in perpetuity). This was awarded to Patrick in recognition of his extensive record over many years as a highly accomplished researcher in leadership and management. (Please refer to the list under research).

Exceptional Service Award from the Professional Teachers Council NSW (PTC) (2007). This award was presented in recognition of Patrick’s contribution to education and the educational leadership in the state of New South Wales for over 25 years.

Fellowship of the Australian college of Education (2007). He was given this award for his excellent service to education over many years.

Inaugural Microsoft New Zealand Travelling Scholar (2005). Patrick was awarded the Inaugural Microsoft Travelling Scholar Award for New Zealand in 2005.

ACEL Distinguished Travelling Scholar Award (2004/05). He was granted the national award of ‘Distinguished Travelling Scholar’ by the Australian Council for Educational Leaders (ACEL).

ACEL Gold Medal (2004); He was conferred with the Gold Medal award by the Australian Council for Educational Leaders in 2004. This medal is presented annually to an educator whose contribution to the study and practice of educational administration is assessed as most outstanding, nation-wide.

William Walker Memorial Oration (2004). This Australian Council for Educational Leaders National award commemorates the life and work of Professor William Walker who established Educational Administration in Australia. Professor Walker was a significant figure in the development of Educational Administration in Commonwealth countries.

ACEL Nganakarrawa Award (2002). He was awarded the Australian Council for Educational Leader (ACEL) Nganakarrawa Award for 2002. This national leadership award is presented to those whose general excellence in educational administration and whose learning, experience and contribution to ACEL have earned lasting respect and gratitude. The word Nganakarrawa was selected and given to the Council by Aboriginal literacy workers from the Ndjebbana bilingual education program at Maningrida Community Education Centre, Maningrida, Central Arnhem Land in the Northern Territory. The term ‘Nganakarrawa’ refers to “those who move about, all seeing, all knowing, knowledgeable and well regarded”.

Honorary Fellow (2001). He was awarded an Honorary Fellowship of the Australian Council of Educational Leadership in 2001.